Feisty Firsts

I bought a nightgown.  Not a sexy, good looking one.  A nightgown that’s just a long baggy t-shirt with some sassy screen on the front.  Mine says, “LOVE SLEEP” and is seafoam green.  Not hot, but only $11 at Walmart when we were last back in Canada trying to find cheap deodorant at midnight.

I don’t regret buying it, its quite comfortable.  For some reason it made me start thinking about writing a blog.  This was a couple of months ago, and since then I haven’t been able to get it out of my head, why this nightgown  made me think of how much I have grown, changed, and sparked a need to share.

SO here it is… I don’t fancy myself a writer, at all, but I would like to be a better story teller- hence a piece of self-improvement.  I do fancy myself quite funny, and the things I face in my day to day life are pretty hilarious.

I am a mom, but I don’t want this to be a “mom-blog” .  Truly, no offense to those blogs… I read them all the time, I just don’t think I am good enough at any aspect of parenting to write about just that.  If I have a glimmer of something good- heck yes I might write about it… but for now, not so much.

I have a career- but I feel similarly about this point as the one before.  I have a husband, a dog, a cat, I live in Kenya (but am Canadian), I have grown siblings (the youngest of 5), and have a variety of hobbies that some may think are dorky.  I used to be a pretty good athlete, and I dabble in yoga and scrabble.

As you can see, I am a bit all over the map, which is why none of these niche blogs is for me.

This is not to be construed as being without passion, or focus- because I think I have a lot of both of these.  I work in youth empowerment- believe whole heartedly in the rights of kids, no matter where they are from, and work every day in hopes to inspire them to take action and move towards solutions for a better world.  Particularly girls and women.

I don’t fit into a lot of categories- and I am getting to a point when I am ok with this.  I am my own person, and I think a lot of the current “ideals” are laughable.  I still have days when I talk badly to myself, or have thoughts that definitely aren’t going to help me be a better partner, mom, employee, leader, or person, but I am working on it- and know many other people working on this as well.

I will be trying to find interesting insights, articles and pieces to help me through this…  and share some funny bits along the way.

Much like an episode of Modern Family- I am aiming for funny, cheap and cheerful, but ending with a meaningful take away with nice music or something along those lines.

Thanks for reading… and becoming part of the feisty women anonymous following.

Leave a Reply

